You are here
Home > Holistics > The Chakras Explained: Solar Plexus Chakra

The Chakras Explained: Solar Plexus Chakra

Position: Just under the sternum
Colour: Yellow
Element: Fire
Ruling planet: Mars, Sun

The Solar Plexus Chakra is symbolised by a ten petalled lotus flower with a pointed downward triangle. The ten petals each represent a different emotion; spiritual ignorance, thirst, jealousy, treachery, shame, fear, disgust, delusion, foolishness and sadness. 

What is the purpose of the Solar Plexus Chakra?

Chakras are the energy centres of our body. They all have their own purpose and role in making sure our bodies work in harmony. The role of the solar plexus chakra is said to be the centre of personal power. It is responsible for ego, personality, identity, freedom and choice. The solar plexus chakra also influences the following:

  • Motivation levels
  • Will-power
  • Self-confidence
  • Health of the digestive system and its respective organs

What are the symptoms of an unbalanced Solar Plexus Chakra?

A chakra can become blocked for a wide variety of reasons including illness, stress, emotional trauma and overuse of other energy centres in your chakra system. When your solar plexus chakra is either underactive or overactive, you may be experiencing one or many of the following symptoms. 

Common physical symptoms:

  • Stomach pain
  • Heartburn
  • Acid reflux
  • Nausea
  • Loss of appetite

Severe or prolonged experiencing of an unbalanced solar plexus chakra can even lead to more serious health conditions such as; diabetes, hypoglycemia and eating disorders. 

Psychological or emotional symptoms:

  • Acting irresponsible
  • Excessive need for control
  • Feeling helpless
  • Feeling insecure
  • Lack of motivation or desire

Ways to rebalance your Solar Plexus Chakra

If you have any of the above symptoms, and your solar plexus chakra has become unbalanced (either overactive or underactive) it is important for your overall health and wellbeing to try and rebalance it. Below are a list of crystals, aromatherapy scents, yoga poses and affirmations that you can introduce into your life. If you feel these haven’t quite worked, get in touch with a healer who will be able to realign your chakras using treatments such as reiki

Crystals: Topaz, Yellow Tourmaline, Citrine.

Aromatherapy: Clary sage, Juniper, Geranium.

Yoga Pose: Active – Cow, Passive – Camel.

Daily Affirmations:

“I accept and value myself for exactly as I am”

“I know I am becoming the best person I can be”

“My personal power is becoming stronger each day”

“I am my own person”

“I choose how to think and behave”

Rachel Smith
Rachel Smith is a developing psychic medium and healer. She has a keen interest in spiritual and mental health and wellbeing. Rachel also works freelance as a copywriter and social media manager. She is passionate about animals and runs an animal website,

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply