You are here
Home > Health & Wellbeing > The Chakras Explained: Sacral Chakra

The Chakras Explained: Sacral Chakra

Position: Lower Abdomen

Colour: Orange

Element: Water

Ruling Planet: Pluto

Purpose of the Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is situated at the lower abdomen, below the belly button. It is depicted as having six petals which are commonly coloured as orange or saffron in colour. 

This particular chakra has the power to bring you pleasure in life’s everyday activities. It generates enthusiasm and powers the creative mind in order for you to be able to take on more tasks and projects. This can be related to all areas of life including family, business, relationships or social activities.

If your sacral chakra is in a healthy, balanced state you should feel trusting, expressive, creative and fully in tune and in control of your own feelings and emotions. 

When your sacral chakra is dysfunctional, it can manifest in the many different emotional and physical problems such as; unbalanced sex drive, feelings of isolation, impotence, bladder problems, prostate problems and lower back pain.

Symptoms of a Blocked or Underactive Sacral Chakra:

  • You are over-sensitive
  • People’s negative actions and words hurt you more than you’d like
  • You are very self-critical
  • You feel guilty for no reason
  • You feel undesirable

Symptoms of an Overactive Sacral Chakra:

  • You are emotionally unbalanced
  • You experience frequent mood swings
  • You can be manipulative of others
  • You fantasise about the future a lot

How to rebalance the Sacral Chakra

If you have any of the above symptoms, and your crown chakra has become unbalanced (either overactive or underactive) it is important for your overall health and wellbeing to try and rebalance it. Below are a list of crystals, aromatherapy scents, yoga poses and affirmations that you can introduce into your life. If you feel these haven’t quite worked, get in touch with a healer who will be able to realign your chakras using treatments such as reiki

Crystals: Fire Opal, Carnelian, Aquamarine.

Aromatherapy: Sandalwood, Jasmine, Rose Oil, Ylang-Ylang

Yoga Pose: Active: Twisting Triangle, Passive: Pose of Shiva

Daily Affirmations:

“I have a right to express my desires to myself and others.”

“Who I am is good enough.”

“My life is unfolding as it should.”

“I am moving towards a time when I am totally happy and fulfilled.”

Rachel Smith
Rachel Smith is a developing psychic medium and healer. She has a keen interest in spiritual and mental health and wellbeing. Rachel also works freelance as a copywriter and social media manager. She is passionate about animals and runs an animal website,

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply