You are here
Home > Holistics > The Chakras Explained: Root Chakra

The Chakras Explained: Root Chakra

Position: Base of spine

Colour: Red

Element: Earth

Ruling Planet: Saturn

Purpose of the Root Chakra

The root chakra is the energy centre responsible for keeping you centered and grounded. It is situated between the base of the spine and the pubic area and is associated with the colour red. The symbol of the root chakra has four petals which symbolise the four directions and four qualities of bliss. 

Also known as the base chakra, it is associated with the feelings of physical and mental security. It is believed that our earliest memories and experiences as infants are stored within this energy centre. 

When you have a healthy and balanced root chakra you should feel consistently grounded, full of energy and health and be able to demonstrate a sense of feeling accomplished within yourself as a whole. 

A dysfunctional or ill-performing root chakra over time may lead to osteoarthritis and other bone and skeleton issues. Emotional dysfunctions include; mental lethargy, unfocused mind, inability to focus and concentrate and lacking attention to detail.

Symptoms of a blocked or underactive root chakra:

  • Emotionally needy
  • Low self-esteem
  • Fearful
  • Nervous
  • Self-destructive behaviour

Symptoms of an overactive root chakra:

  • Bullying behaviour towards others
  • Overly materialistic
  • Self-centered
  • Not thoughtful towards others

How to rebalance the Root Chakra

If you have any of the above symptoms, and your crown chakra has become unbalanced (either overactive or underactive) it is important for your overall health and wellbeing to try and rebalance it. Below are a list of crystals, aromatherapy scents, yoga poses and affirmations that you can introduce into your life. If you feel these haven’t quite worked, get in touch with a healer who will be able to realign your chakras using treatments such as reiki

Crystals: Emerald, Carnelian, 

Aromatherapy: Cedarwood, Patchouli, Myrrh

Yoga Pose: Active – Warrior or Triangle, Passive – Eagle

Daily Affirmations:

“My body is becoming important to me.”

“I am taking responsibility for my life.”

“I recognise the abundance of love, trust and care surrounding me.”

“I deserve the best life has to offer.”

“I am connected to Mother Earth and know the security in being grounded.”

Rachel Smith
Rachel Smith is a developing psychic medium and healer. She has a keen interest in spiritual and mental health and wellbeing. Rachel also works freelance as a copywriter and social media manager. She is passionate about animals and runs an animal website,

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply