You are here
Home > Health, Fitness & Wellbeing > The Chakras Explained: Crown Chakra

The Chakras Explained: Crown Chakra

Position: Just above the top of the head

Colour: Violet

Element: Thought, cosmic energy

Ruling planet: Uranus

Purpose of the Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is the highest of the seven chakras and is often referred to as the ‘thousand petal lotus’ due to the symbol that is associated with. The crown chakra is responsible for your spiritual connectivity and your ‘higher self’. This particular chakra symbolises the balance of duality within us and our ability to experience super-consciousness. Your crown chakra influences the following:

  • Excitement levels
  • Motivation levels
  • Sleep quality
  • Ability to find peace
  • Your self-worth

Symptoms of a Blocked Crown Chakra

A chakra can become blocked for a wide variety of reasons including illness, stress, emotional trauma and overuse of other energy centres in your chakra system. When your crown chakra is unbalanced, whether that means it’s underactive (or blocked, or overactive, it can really send your body into a state where you just don’t feel comfortable in your own skin. If you have had an unbalanced crown chakra for a significant amount of time, it can actually result in physical symptoms such as; poor co-ordination, chronic headaches and exhaustion. 

Symptoms of an underactive crown chakra:

  • Confusion about how you feel and what you want to be doing in your life
  • Lack of inspiration and drive
  • Need for oversleeping

Symptoms of an overactive crown chakra:

  • Cynicism
  • Apathy
  • Disconnecting from your spiritual abilities
  • Self-destructive tendencies

Ways to Rebalance Your Crown Chakra

If you have any of the above symptoms, and your crown chakra has become unbalanced (either overactive or underactive) it is important for your overall health and wellbeing to try and rebalance it. Below are a list of crystals, aromatherapy scents, yoga poses and affirmations that you can introduce into your life. If you feel these haven’t quite worked, get in touch with a healer who will be able to realign your chakras using treatments such as reiki

Crystals: Clear Quartz, Amethyst, Celestite, Blue Sapphire. 

Aromatherapy: Ylang-ylang, lime blossom, rosewood, lotus, waterlily.

Yoga Pose: Active: Headstand. Passive: Shoulder Stand.

Daily Affirmations: 

“I am starting to accept myself as I am, with love and gratitude.”

“I am a unique, radiant, loving being.”

“I choose to transform my life and be free.”

“I release all limited thoughts and life myself up to higher levels of awareness.”

“I am who I am.”

Rachel Smith
Rachel Smith is a developing psychic medium and healer. She has a keen interest in spiritual and mental health and wellbeing. Rachel also works freelance as a copywriter and social media manager. She is passionate about animals and runs an animal website,

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply