You are here
Home > Health & Wellbeing > A Beginner’s Guide to the Chakra System

A Beginner’s Guide to the Chakra System

The human body has seven main energy centres and these are known as chakras. They are fundamental in the development of spiritual and holistic healing and therapy, as well as your overall wellbeing. Their main job is to keep the body, mind and soul stable and well-balanced which prevents illness, tiredness and lack of motivation. 

Gaining a basic understanding of your chakras and how to keep them healthy will teach you how to fully relax, improve your health and realise your full potential.  In this article, we will discuss the seven main chakras, what they are used for and how you can keep them healthy and stable. Let’s start at the top…

Crown Chakra

Colour: Voilet

Element: Sustained by spirit

Essential Oils: Linden or Lotus

The Crown Chakra is situated just above the top of your head, within the auric field. The one thousand lotus petals that are depicted within its symbol represent pure consciousness. The physical purpose of the Crown Chakra is to refine the brain and nervous system. It also provides you with inner understanding. 

Third Eye Chakra

Colour: Indigo

Element: Sustained by natural elements of Ether or Akasha

Essential Oils: Frankincense or Holy Basil

The Third Eye Chakra, also known as the brow chakra, sits between your two eyebrows. Traditionally, the symbol of two open lotus petals represent the balance of the two sides of the brain, working together equally to balance everyday activities. Physical ailments associated with an unbalanced Third Eye Chakra include headaches, eyesight problems, hormonal imbalances and lack of sleep. 

Throat Chakra

Colour: Blue

Element: Sustained by natural elements of Ether or Akasha

Essential Oils: Lavender, Camomile or Rosemary

As the name suggests, the Throat Chakra is positioned in the aura around the throat. The purpose of this chakra is to purify the mind and body. When this chakra is well balanced, you will be able to deeply connect with levels of the mind. It is closely connected with the respiratory system and thyroid gland which brings equilibrium to the body’s systems. 

Heart Chakra

Colour: Green (or pink)

Element: Sustained by air

Essential Oils: Rose or Thyme

The Heart Chakra is situated in the middle of the chest. It is responsible for overall wellbeing, love and unconditional relationships. It is associated with the thymus organ which forms an important part of the body’s immune system. Stresses caused by family and relationships can make the Heart Chakra become unbalanced, which can lead to heart disease, high blood pressure and asthma. 

Solar Plexus Chakra

Colour: Yellow

Element: Sustained by fire

Essential Oils: Peppermint, Sage or Juniper

The Solar Plexus Chakra sits just below the sternum. The traditional meaning behind the symbol is that the ten lotus petals represent negative traits that are destroyed by fire. It is the major nerve plexus for the whole body and is responsible for passion and empowerment. The Solar Plexus Chakra aids our metabolism and digestive system and gives us an overall zest for life. 

Sacral Chakra

Colour: Orange

Element: Sustained by water

Essential Oils: Sandalwood, Ylang-ylang or Fennel

The Sacral Chakra is located just below the navel and is vital in balancing levels of stress and our mental and bodily wellness. The six open lotus petals in the symbol represent creativity, pleasure, relationships and emotions. This chakra changes negative energies into power and light, keeping our aura clean and free of anything the body can’t cope with. 

Root Chakra

Colour: Red

Element: Sustained by earth

Essential Oils: Myrrh or Cedarwood

Located in the pelvis, the Root (or base) Chakra is responsible for grounding, deepening your understanding and connecting to the environment. The four lotus petals shown in the symbol represent forms of joy. It offers mental stability and keeps us balanced. Deficiency in this chakra can lead to lack of confidence and will-power. 


Rachel Smith
Rachel Smith is a developing psychic medium and healer. She has a keen interest in spiritual and mental health and wellbeing. Rachel also works freelance as a copywriter and social media manager. She is passionate about animals and runs an animal website,

Similar Articles

One thought on “A Beginner’s Guide to the Chakra System

Leave a Reply